Apax boys win TRC title

Led by four runners in the top ten, the Wabash boys varsity cross country team won the Three Rivers Conference team championship with 38 points, Saturday, Oct. 5 at Manchester.

Manchester finished third with 74 points, Southwood was fifth with 124 point, while Northfield was one runner short to field a complete team.


For Wabash, Derek Vogel cross the finish line second overall with a time of 16:42.79. Joining Vogel in the top ten and earning all-conference honors were Jarrett Wilson in seventh place in 17:31.18, Blakley Cole in eighth place in 17:32.97, and Dave Ford in 10th place in 17:39.76.

Just behind them were Caleb Callahan in 11th place in 17:44.55, Wyatt Davis in 18th place in 18:30.72, and Caelan McDougle in 21st place in 18:50.51.

Also for Wabash were Ethan Kocher in 18:59.98, Eli Callahan in 19:07.70, Jacob Fuchs in 19:33.01, Lincoln Saldivar in 20:06.74, Ethan Berry in 20:09.73, Jaxon Barnett in 21:21.82, Zach Reed in 21:38.30, and Brodie Craft in 22:48.82.


The Squires were led by Carter Bedke in third place in 16:55.62 which put him on the all-conference team.

Raven King was 12th place in 18:03.87, Cade Jones in 15th  place in 18:19.07, Jonathan Eberly in 20th place in 18:49.45, Raice Martin in 24th place in 19:05.10, Lane Stetzel in 25th place in 19:05.95, and Reece Adamiec in 27th place in 19:17.64.

Also for Manchester were Kaden Dillon in 19:42.02, Mario Romero in 19:46.46, Kedrick Metzger in 19:54.80, Elijah Burlingame in 20:00.81, Caden Marcum in 22:17.09, and Gavin Mize in 22:55.29.


Southwood's Braden Sweet was the overall winner with a time of 16:11.24 to make All-TRC.

Also for the Knights were Jacob Marlow in 16th place in 18:19.57, Nathan Lehner in 30th place in 19:36.24, Weslee Nelson in 37th place in 20:07.32, and Devin Danzy in 40th place in 20:33.97, Landon Topliff in 20:52.31, Brayden Smith in 21:51.08, and Skylar Amos in 22:37.54.


For Northfield, Andrew Burns in 17:33.32, Grant Dale in 18:48.44, Karson Pratt in 21:56.16, and Ben Kissell in 22.17.12.

Girls varsity

The Manchester girls varsity team finished second with 51 points. The Squires were the only Wabash County team to field a complete team.


The Squires were led by Kambree Cashdollar in sixth place in 20:40.67, followed by Halle Briner in seventh place in 20:42.49, and Josie Briner in ninth place in 21:21.30, with all three earning all-conference honors.

Skye McCullough finished 14th in 22:26.06, Maddy Evans in 15th place in 22:29.69, Sydney Diefenbaugh in 16th place in 22:37.30, and Carissa Edwards in 17th place in 22:43.30.

Also for Manchester were Kiera Hatfield in 22:57.09, Anna Markham in 23:36.11, and Ainsley West in 24:31.13.


Alyssa McKillip led the Norse in 20:00.81, followed by Allysa Haupert in 27:09.06, and Faye Satterhwaite in 38:02.87.


Southwood was led by Aleia Sweet in 22:25.92, followed by Monica Hobson in 23:24.24, and Mariah Brown in 24:24.70.


The Apaches were led by Camille Kugler in 24:15.28, followed by Angel Wehrly in 24:24.16, Sierra Hall in 25:03.08, and Grace La Mar in 27:10.41.

Posted on 2019 Oct 08