Youngsters advance in Elks Hoop Shoot

Showing off their awards in the 8-9 year old divisions are (front row, from left) Olivia Braun, first place; Maddie Von Uhl, second place; Ellie Baker,third place; Gavin Betten (back row, second from left), first place; Drake Sparling, third place, and Reiss Gaerte, second place. They are joined by Hoop Shoot chair Stewart McAllister (back row, at left), Wabash Elks Exalted Ruler Joseph Slacian. Photo provided

By The Paper staff

On Saturday Dec, 12, 30 shooters from seven Wabash County schools competed in the Elks Hoop Shoot contest sponsored by the Wabash Elks No.471. 

There will be six shooters that will represent the Wabash Lodge at the district competition on Jan. 10. at Indian Springs Middle School in Columbia City.

The top three finishers in each division were:

8-9 year old boys
1st  Gavin Betten

2nd Reiss Gaerte

3rd Drake Sparling

8-9 year old girls
1st Olivia Braun

2nd Maddie Von Uhl

3rd Ellie Baker

10-11 year old boys

1st Dillon Tomlinson

2nd Kaden Vogel

3rd Ashton Smith

10-11 year old girls
1st Libby Mattern

2nd Zoey McKnight

3rd Mya Denney

12-13 year old boys
1st Rob Ford

2nd Toby Baer

3rd Blake Smith

12-13 year old girls
1st place Bailey Wyatt

2nd place Annie Schuler

3rd place Alivia Short

Posted on 2015 Dec 15