2 locals seek state position

By Joseph Slacian

Two Wabash County men have filed their candidacies with the Indiana Secretary of State to seek their parties’ nominations for the Indiana House of Representatives’ 18th District seat.

Republican Russell “Russ” Reahard and Democrat Chad Harris both filed their paperwork last week.

The seat is now held by Rep. Dave Wolkins, who has indicated he will not be seeking re-election. The seat makes up Wabash County and parts of Kosciusko, Grant and Miami counties.

Reahard, in a news release, called himself “a Constitutional concservacit snd seeks to uphold the sanctity of life from conception until natural death.”

He also will defend the Second Amendment, according to the release, and he believes in “low taxes, balanced budgets and fiscal responsibility.”

Harris, in making his announcement on Facebook, said if elected, he will “advocate for teachers, unions, the middle class and the working poor.”

A Manchester University graduate, Reahard has done graduate work at the University of Indianapolis and Ivy Tech. He currently serves as president of the North Manchester Fellowship of Churches.

Harris serves as the Wabash County Democrat Party chair.

Filing for the May 5 Primary Election began on Wednesday and will continue through noon, Friday, Feb. 7.

So far, several candidates have filed for re-election to their current Wabash County seats.

Filing have been: LuAnn Layman for Wabash County Treasurer; Cheri Slee for Wabash County Surveyor; Barry J. Eppley for Wabash County Commissioner, District 3; Brian K. Haupert for Wabash County Commissioner, District 1; Marcie Shepherd for Wabash County Auditor; Matt Dillon for Wabash County Council, At-Large; and Benjamin D.R. Vanderpool for Wabash Superior Court Judge. All are Republicans.

While Vanderpool now serves as Superior Court judge, this is his first bid for election to the post. He was appointed last year by Gov. Eric Holcomb following the death of Superior Court Judge Amy Cornell.

Several filed for precinct committeeman posts last week, as well. Those were Reahard for Chester 3; Dillon for Noble 11, Barbara Pearson for Paw Paw Precinct and Barbara Amiss for Chester 6. All are Republicans.

Reahard, Pearson and Dillon also filed to be delegates to the Republican State Convention.

Democrat Donald Rose filed to be a delegate to the Democrat State Convention.

Posted on 2020 Jan 14