Incumbent falls in City Council race

Wabash County Republican chair Barb Pearson chats with Terry Brewer Jr., winner in the Wabash City Council's Third District race. Photo by Joseph Slacian. 

By Joseph Slacian

Challenger David Monroe defeated Wabash City Council incumbent Eric Schoening by seven votes Tuesday in the Republican Primary for the Council’s Second District seat.

Monroe received 38 votes to Schoening’s 31 in the closes race of the night in the City of Wabash and the towns of North Manchester and LaFontaine.

In other contested races within the City of Wabash, GOP incumbent Doug Adams defeated challenger Jonathan Bouse, 112-23, in the Council’s Fifth District race, while Terry Brewer Jr. defeated Sheryll Ulshafer, 63-29, in a race between two political newcomers to win the nomination for the Council’s Third District seat.

In North Manchester, Republican incumbent Jim Smith defeated Anthony “Tony” DeLaughter, 279-134, in the race for the North Manchester Town Council’s Second District seat.

In the biggest field in this year’s Primary, Lori Brane, Jay Gillespie and E. John Krhin III won the GOP nominations for the LaFontaine Town Council.

Brane received 89 votes, while Gillespie received 80 and Krhin received 69. Other candidates were Mike Holderman, 58 votes; Jeremy Waite, 31 votes, and Indie Piercy, 16 votes.

Other Republicans appearing on the ballot in all three communities, as well as Lagro and Roann, were unopposed. Because there were no candidates in Lagro or Roann, no elections took place in those communities.

Likewise, because there were no races on the Democrat ticket, no Democrat Primary took place.

In all, 992 people, or 9.7 percent of the 10,232 registered voters in Wabash, North Manchester and LaFontaine, cast ballots on Tuesday.

During the 2015 Primary, more than twice as many voters cast ballots. That year, 2,007 of the 11,334 registered voters cast ballots.

Like this year, LaFontaine and North Manchester had Town Council races, and Wabash also had two races for the City Council. Unlike this year, the city also had a race for mayor on the Democrat ticket.

The way things stand after the Primary Election, there is only one race on the ballot for the November General Election. Republicans Bryan Dillon (an incumbent) and John Burnsworth and Democrat Dan Townsend are on the ballot for the Wabash City Council at-large seat.

“Since there is an at-large council race, all voters in the city will vote,” Wabash County Clerk Lori Draper told The Paper of Wabash County. “During this primary, only three of the five districts had races in Wabash, so not all Wabash City voters had someone on their ballot to vote for.”

That all could change, however, as party chairs have until July 3 to fill any openings on their respective ballots.

Likewise, an independent candidate has until July 1 to file their petition with correct signatures to appear on the ballot. There are some stipulations as to who may run as an independent candidate.

“You cannot run as an independent for the same position you lost in the primary, but you could run for a different office,” Draper said.

One other important deadline is 5 p.m. Monday, Oct. 7, Draper noted. That is the deadline for non-registered individuals to register to vote in the Nov. 5 General Election.

Posted on 2019 May 14