Many primary candidates running unopposed

By Joseph Slacian

Wabash County Republicans will have one county-wide race to decide in the May 8 Primary Election.

Some GOP voters also will have Wabash County Council races to decide, as well as at least four local township races. They also have a race on the state and one on the national level to decide.

Democrats, on the other hand, have no local races on which to vote. However, there is a full field of Democrat candidates vying for a chance to run for the U.S. House of Representatives on the November ballot.

In Wabash County, five people are seeking the GOP nomination for Wabash County Sheriff. The seat is now filled by Sheriff Bob Land, who is in his second term. State statute prohibits him from seeking a third term.

Seeking the GOP nomination are Walter Woods, G. Ryan Short, Ryan Baker, E. Steve Hicks and Glenn Butcher.
The winner of that race, as of now, is unopposed in the November election.

As for county council seats, GOP voters in the council’s second and third districts will decide on candidates for the fall election.

In the second district, County GOP chair Barb Pearson and former council member Mike Ridenour are seeking the nomination. The winner of that race will meet Democrat Jane Long in the November election.

As for the third district, former sheriff Leroy Striker is seeking the seat against incumbent Matt Dillon. The winner of that race is, as of now, unopposed in November.

Only those living in the second and third districts can vote for those seats, County Clerk Elaine Martin told The Paper of Wabash County.

On the township level, voters in Lagro Township have two races to decide.

In one race, Eric Terrell is seeking the nomination against incumbent Andrew DeLong for Lagro Township Trustee.

Meanwhile, five Republicans – Gary Hunter, Deb Schenkel, Ralph Ranck, Rob Cole and Allison Siders King – are seeking nominations for the Lagro Township Board. The top three vote recipients will meet Democrat Lloyd Bentley in November.

In Chester Township, Bret Bechtold, David Terflinger, Wayne Stephan and Robert Lamoine “Moe” Thompson are seeking the GOP nomination for the township board, while in Paw Paw Township, Mike Schuler, Ashley Cordes, Brian D. Baker and Scott Dawes also are seeking the GOP nomination for that township board.

On the state level, Russell Reahard has filed his candidacy against GOP incumbent David Wolkins for the 18th District Indiana House of Represenatives seat. That winner will face Democrat Dee Moore in November.

On the national level, Mark Summe is facing GOP incumbent Jackie Walorski for the party’s nomination for the U.S. House of Representatives second district seat.

The winner of that race will face one of six Democrats seeking that party’s nomination. Those candidates are Douglas Carpenter, Pat Hackett, Mel Hall, Yatish Joshi, Roland E. Leech and John H. Petroff.

Other candidates in uncontested local races are:

Wabash County Prosecutor – William Hartley Jr. (R).

Wabash County Clerk of the Circuit Court – Lori Draper (R).

Wabash County Recorder – Eric Rish (R).

Wabash County Assessor – Kelly Schenkel (R).

Wabash County Commissioners, 2nd District – Jeff Dawes (R).

Wabash County Council, 1st District – Matt Mize (R)

Wabash County Council, 4th District – Kyle Bowman (R).

Chester Township Trustee –  Florence “Flo” Dahlstrom (R).

Liberty Township Trustee – Patty Lengel-Godfroy (R),

Noble Township Trustee – Lori Harnish (R).

Pleasant Township Trustee – Becky Warmuth (R).

Waltz Township Trustee – Michael Ruse (R).

Liberty Township Board – Ronald Huston and Greg Baldwin, both Republicans.

Noble Township Board – Brenda Hegel, William Plummer and Steven Kirtlan, all Republicans, and Democrat Andrew Osborne.

Pleasant Township Board – David Hawkins, Stan Bagley and William Parker, all Republicans, and Glendon R. Morgan, Democrat.

Waltz Township Board – Jeremy Boardman, April DeVore and Derek Finch, all Republicans.

On the state level, Democrat Gary Snyder will meet Republican incumbent Andy Zay in the November election for the 17th District Indiana House of Representatives seat.

Republicans seeking State Convention Delegate posts are David G. Roe, Nan Roe, Barbara Pearson, Laura Cole, Bonnie K. Corn and Harold L. Corn.

Democrats seeking State Convention Delegate posts are Jane Long, Nancy Whitmer, Susan Dockter, D. Larry Dockter, Andrew Osborne and Donald Rose.

Seeking precinct committeeman posts are Jane Long, Democrat Noble 9; Chad Harris, Democrat Noble 4; Mary Brane, Democrat Liberty 1; Nancy Whitmer, Democrat Lagro 3; D. Larry Dockter, Democrat Chester 2; Melinda Lantz, Democrat Chester 4; Glendon R. Morgan, Democrat Pleasant 1; Andrew Osborne, Democrat Noble 2; and Donald Rose, Democrat Liberty 2.

Posted on 2018 Feb 13