Indiana Corn Growers re-elect President Herb Ringel, focus on ethanol regulations

Herb Ringel, Wabash, was re-elected president of the Indiana Corn Growers Association (ICGA) by the board at its meeting in December.

Also elected were: vice president, Mike Nichols, Rockport; treasurer, George Morton, Lebanon; and secretary, David Gottbrath, Pekin.

The ICGA board works to develop sound policies that protect and promote the interest of Indiana corn farmers and consists of farmer-directors from across the state.

"With the challenges to the Renewable Fuel Standard and lack of movement on the farm bill, it is critical for our lawmakers to hear from Indiana corn farmers on policy that affects how we raise our crops, how we can compete in a global economy and how we build new markets for our corn crop," said Ringel who is in his second term as ICGA president.

"As we move into 2014, our main focus is to defend the RFS as the Environmental Protection Agency seeks to drastically cut the amount of ethanol that petroleum companies are required to use. This has a direct effect on each and every corn farmer as we have seen corn prices drop below the cost of production since the announcement."

ICGA is asking Indiana corn farmers to let EPA know that their decision to lower the corn ethanol requirement under the RFS is hurting their farms, as well as rural communities across Indiana who have seen growth because of the ethanol industry. More information and directions on how to submit comments can be found at 

Posted on 2013 Dec 30